Bill Moyer Theatre Arts Award

Each year Playcrafters sponsors the Bill Moyer Theatre Arts Award, a $500 presentation to a high school senior from the area who is pursuing a career in the arts. Donations to this fund are always accepted.

The program began in 1982 as the Playcrafters Theatre Arts Award and was given each year to a High School Senior in the Perkiomen School District.

In 1994, the name of the Award was changed to The Bill Moyer Theatre Arts Award as a memorial to long time Playcrafter, Bill Moyer and Playcrafters opened the award competion to other area high schools.

Active members of Playcrafters and their immediate families may also apply.


The applicant must have been active in some aspect of theatre arts while in high school.  An essay will need to be submitted describing how you got involved in theatre, how it has helped you grow as a person, and how these experiences will benefit you in whatever career you pursue.

The applicant expresses a willingness to communicate with The Playcrafters regarding future progress and plans.

Procedure for Applying

An application is available for download or through the procedure set up in each local school.

The student should complete the application and mail it to Playcrafters by the established deadline. For 2017, that deadline is April 30, 2017.

The Award Committee will select the recipient from the submitted applications.

The name of the winner and the check for $500 will be forwarded to the winner’s school in time for presentation at the local senior awards ceremony.

Past Winners

1982 Jane Shellington
1983 Rosemary Romano
1984 Catherine Flynn
1985 Glenn Rutter
1986 Lisa Harris
1987 Jennifer Rapp
1988 Melissa Longacre
1989 Amy Elizabeth Shuck
1990 Tara Roe Fiore
1991 Stephanie Lynn Lundy
1992 Wayne Philips Whitco
1993 Alan Carr, Jr

1994 - Rachel Altomose (Perkiomen Valley)
1995 - Shana Longo (Perkiomen Valley)
1996 - Jesse Bernstein (North Penn)
1997 - Christopher Haig (Kennedy/Kenrick Catholic)
1998 - Kate McLenigan (Norristown)
1999 - Elizabeth McLenigan (Norristown)
2000 - Meghan Williams (Methacton)
2002 - Megan Smith (Methacton)
2003 - David Yashin (Norristown)
2004 - Ashley D'Angolini (Pennridge)
2005 - Rebekah Wheeler - (Pennridge)
2006 - Daniel Beckman (Wissahickon) & Michele Sinacore (North Penn)
2007 - Scott McClennen (North Penn)
2010 - Emily Enters & Jaclyn A. Di Ferdinando
2011 - John A. Di Ferdinando
2012 - Suzanne Rainear (Souderton)
2013 - Erin Tiffany

2015 - Sarah Shin

2016 - Nick Cardillo ( Souderton) and Mackenzie Moyer (Souderton)

2017 - Lillian Pyskaty